Once I Fashioned Wings – David Fraser

Once I Fashioned Wings

I’m in her garden, among the roses,
flowers wrapped in plastic bags,
bees placed in match boxes
tied with string, yellow ants
kept in old shoe-polish tins,
fish that seem to float upside down,
birds tethered by strands of purple wool
attached to painted sticks, snakes
chopped in pieces by a spade,
their bodies dumped in garbage bins.

I’ve fashioned wings from discarded
envelopes I’ve been scribbling on,
but as I flap, all I hear
is their rattle in the wind.

(Previously published in the Chapbook: Rattle in the Wind, Black and White Quarterly, Summer, 2012, Vol. 1 No. 2 Red Ochre Press)

David Fraser lives in Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island, BC. His poetry has appeared in many journals and anthologies, including Rocksalt, An Anthology of Contemporary BC Poetry. He has published five collections of poetry, most recently Caught in My Throat, 201, and Paper Boats, 2012.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

