I Am – Fern G. Z. Carr

I Am

I am the stars,
the wind, a crystal,
a blade of grass,
a feather.
I am entropy –
a random assortment
of oxygen, carbon,
hydrogen, nitrogen
and trace elements
in a body
that happens to exist
at this point in time,
its individuality
organically interconnected
to the universal;
I am a body that possesses
limited cognition –
an integral
but trivial speck
of infinity.
I am a part of the universe.
I am the universe.
I exist. I am.

FERN G. Z. CARR is a former lawyer and teacher. She composes poetry in five languages and has been published extensively world-wide from Finland to Mayotte Island in the Mozambique Channel. Her poem, “I Am”, has been chosen by the Parliamentary Poet Laureate as Poem of the Month for Canada. You van visit her website at www.ferngzcarr.com

This entry was posted in LCP Member Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am – Fern G. Z. Carr

Leave a Reply

