And sing their hymns an octave higher – DC Reid

And sing their hymns an octave higher

I am kneeling in the garden
with the yellow light a lifting.
When they all come up to meet me
they will bring the Earth to greet me
they will lift my child to sunshine
for they tell me it is theirs.

And I want that they should take me
with my bloom that they are taking
so I raise my hand to sign them
and I move my foot to stop them
but they’ve seen my small transgression
and sing their hymns an octave higher.

They will make the Earth its better
to be more the trodden victim
and its crying for their meekness
and its crying for their loveness.
But the Earth it will not bear me
when my toe lays down its touching

for it knows that I am worthless.
Though the Earth allows me entrance
it has all the wrath of children
and the warmth of those who left me
and that’s where I will be always
among the garbage and the flowers.

DC Reid has published ten books. ‘And sing their hymns an octave higher’, is from a new book, You Shall Have No Other, that will be published in its first incarnation as web-based movies on Sandria.ca.
See: https://vimeo.com/59024854, for one of the poems.

This entry was posted in LCP Member Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

